Главная » Tourism » Lida: attractions, people and a long history

Lida: attractions, people and a long history

Belarusian city Lida: main attractions

Today, the Republic of Belarus is considered one of the best places for inexpensive leisure and travel. Tourists are attracted not only by prices, but also by untouched natural landscapes, as well as ancient architectural structures with a rich history. Interesting in this regard, it is small cities that have their own unique flavor and preserve the memory of past events. These include the city of Lida, located in the Grodno region.

It was founded in 1323 by the Lithuanian prince Gedymin, and in 1590 received the Magdeburg right and became independent. A relatively small city has many attractions. Consider the main ones.

Lida Castle

This is one of the most ancient and famous buildings of Belarus. You can find another name for Lida Castle — Gedymin’s Castle, since it was on the orders of this prince that the magnificent structure was built in 1325. The fact is that Lida was in those times a border town and was constantly exposed to external invasions. Without a good defensive wall was not enough.

Lida Castle erected on a 6-meter hill surrounded by marshes. Deep ditches were dug near its walls and an artificial lake was made. The walls were stone, up to two meters thick. However, even such a solid structure could not transfer all wars and fires.

After the biggest fire in which the entire city burned out, the inhabitants began to dismantle the walls of the castle in order to rebuild their homes.

Until 2000, the building was in a rather poor condition. After 2005, Lida Castle found a second life since it was restored. Today there are jousting tournaments, various festivals and performances. In winter, a skating rink is poured in the courtyard of the castle, where you can have a wonderful rest with a cheerful company. Moreover, not everyone can boast that skating in the courtyard of a medieval castle.

You can visit Lida Castle on any day except Monday.

St. Michael’s Cathedral

This temple was built on the site of a wooden Catholic monastery that burnt down in 1842. At this time, Lida belonged to Russia. The emperor ordered to build a cathedral of stone in the form of a cross. This building was completed in 1863. The temple became known as St. Michael, in honor of St. Michael the Archangel.

But in 1919, Lida was captured by the Poles, the temple was desecrated, and then made a church. In 1957 it was closed. A planetarium began to work in the building. Only in 1996, this temple again became one of the main attractions of the city, and the Orthodox Church was also returned.

Today, peace and tranquility reigns inside the cathedral. Here you can see the unique icons of St. Michael, Panteleimon and the Pochaev icon of the Mother of God.

Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross (Farny Church)

This temple has also undergone many changes due to wars and fires. But in general, the view of the building and the interior decoration, namely murals and frescoes, are preserved. At the altar are skillfully executed figures of the apostles. The most powerful icon of the church is the image of the Mother of God and the baby, which dates from the XIV century.

Not far from the church is a monument to the first book printer — Francisk Skaryna.

Church of St. George the Victorious

Originally, this temple was wooden and was a simple chapel in the cemetery. In 1875, the Throne was transferred to it from Lida Castle, which was destroyed. After Lida was captured by the Poles in 1919, it was this church that remained the only Orthodox church in the whole city.

In the modern version of the temple is not wooden, since in 1990 it was lined with brick masonry.

Naturally, the most significant icon in the temple is the face of St. George. It is believed that he helps athletes, soldiers, barren couples, as well as people serving a prison sentence.

Church of Panteleimon

This building belongs to the new sights of Lida. The church was built in 2006. The building is distinguished by its elevating forms and elevations. An Orthodox festival is organized on the basis of this temple every year.

Catholic chapel of St. Barbara

This building is located in the center of the Catholic cemetery of Lida. That chapel, which can be seen now was built in 1930, but archival data show that before this there was a wooden chapel of the XIX century. The building is a neat stone structure.

At the cemetery you can find the burial of the middle of the XIX century, as well as the graves of soldiers of the First World War.

Historical and Art Museum

For those travelers who want to find out almost everything about Lida in one day, it opens the door to the historical and art museum. It is located in the building of the former PR church. It was an order of Catholic monks who taught people literacy, philosophy, Latin and mathematics for free.

The museum has a lot of exhibits showing everything — from the oldest settlements in this area to the present day. You can see an interesting collection of ancient coins, collected by museum staff. The history of the city during the Great Patriotic War is rich in its exploits.

The museum also features a permanent exhibition on the nature of Lida and its surroundings. Here you can find photos and descriptions of rare animals, birds, plants, which can be found only in this part of Belarus.

Interesting monuments

In addition to the already described monument to the pioneer printer Francis Skaryna, located near the Farny Church, there are many other sculptures that arouse interest and desire to capture themselves next to them in a memorable photo.

On the street, named after the famous poet Adam Mickiewicz, is his monument, surrounded by a garden with cozy benches.

The Mound of Immortality keeps the memory of the events of the Great Patriotic War. It was built in 1966.

Initially, the mound was a pentahedral height of 7 meters. A casket with a message to future residents of Belarus and the world is mounted in the basement. It should be opened 100 years after the Great Victory — May 9, 2045.

In 1973 the mound was supplemented with pylons symbolizing artillery guns.

The Mound of Immortality is located on Sovetskaya Street. It is surrounded by a cozy green park.

In front of the Officers’ House on the same street there is a monument to the Afghan Soldiers, made by sculptor Vadim Vorobyov in honor of the 20th anniversary of the withdrawal of troops from Afghanistan. The monument represents three flying cranes, which against the background of birches growing alongside personify a peaceful life and the desire to return to their native land.

In 2008, a sundial was built in Lida, which is located opposite the Yubileiny cinema. They represent the Roman dial of granite, which is located on three whales. The author of this work is the sculptor Richard Grusha.

Near the hotel «Lida» is a modern sculpture called «Traveler.» She depicts a man who sat down to rest on his suitcase. He extends his hand to greet all the passersby. The people began to be considered a good tradition to shake the «Traveler» hand. Then the day will definitely go well. The author of this work is the Minsk sculptor Vladimir Zhbanov.

The city of Lida is such a place on the map of the Republic of Belarus, which has preserved many attractions. Having been in this cozy town, visiting its castle, temples, museum, parks and squares, you will definitely want to return to the land of Lida again.

О admin


Check Also

Big Buddha in Pattaya (Big Buddha Hill): history, overview, photo

Big Buddha in Pattaya: review, photo, reviews Big Buddha Hill in Pattaya (Big Buddha Hill) — the name of the ...


WEATHER IN THAILAND: WHEN IT IS BETTER TO GO ON VACATION For example, there are regular flights. Every year, there ...

Hilton Pattaya: full hotel review

Hilton Pattaya: full hotel review Hotel Hilton Pattaya is the largest hotel complex in south-east Asia. This hotel offers modern ...

Wat Phra Dhammakaya Temple

Wat Phra Dhammakaya Temple Today in Thailand there are about 40 thousand unique temples. But among them there is one ...